The Turing Way Bookdash

Author: Esther Plomp

The Turing Way Book Dash participants working on their contributions (photo by Esther Plomp).

I attended the second Turing Way book dash event (London, 21 and 22 February), which may need some explaining:

  • The Turing Way is a ‘lightly opinionated’ online guide to reproducible data science. The book is collaboratively written using GitHub and Jupyter book, an effort led by Kirstie Whitaker.
  • A book dash is a short event (1-2 days) where people come together to work on a book. The name book dash derives from a book sprint, where the time taken is longer than a dash (3-5 days).

By attending the Turing Way Book dash I got to contribute to this amazing resource, I met a lot of great people that are part of the Turing Way community, and I gained more confidence in working collaboratively using GitHub (and made my first pull request!).

Malvika Sharan introducing the Book Dash to the participants (photo by Esther Plomp).

Together with my partner in credit-crime, Frances Madden, we added a section about why you should have an ORCID, which was reviewed by Jade Pickering. This resulted in a drawing made by Scriberia.

Photograph of the drawing by Scriberia, which will be available on Zenodo.

Afterwards I contributed a data citation section and revised the Research Data Management chapter, adding in some of the examples we highlight at Delft. (These changes are still under review at the time of writing.)

It even got me back into cross-stitching, thanks to Sarah Gibson! (Stay tuned for a picture of my cross-stitched Binder logo.)

Exciting additions thanks to the book dash participants include:

As you may conclude from this list, I got to meet and collaborate with amazing people during the book dash! I hope to continue to add contributions to the Turing Way through the bi-weekly Turing Way Collaboration Cafés. The next Café is on the fourth of March and starts at 16:00!

If you would like to contribute to the Turing Way please get in touch or visit their contributing guidelines to learn how to start.

One comment

  1. Pingback: The Turing Way Book Dash (Online) | Open Working

Leave a comment